Abbreviated top-21 (2015)

Talk about the Cardinals minor league baseball
phins
Sobbing quietly during Fox programming

Abbreviated top-21 (2015)

Post by phins »

Hey guys, I apologize I just haven't had the time to spend to make this as long and comprehensive as usual. Honestly, I'm not sure it's anything you couldn't get freely available on the internet already. I included more players this year, but a lot less detail. As always, I fully admit I am an amateur doing this for fun, and I love feedback.

21. Andrew Morales- RHP, 6-0, 185, 1/16/1993. Competitive balance pick seen as a money saver, but has real talent. Signed for 546k after leading UC-Irvine as staff ace. Undersized, but has two legit plus pitches in a hard, 93 mph fastball and a great breaking ball that is a true swing and miss pitch. Will be a reliever in my mind and could move quickly in that role.

20. Chris Perry- RHP, Big relief-only type with velocity, size, and strikeouts. Struggled with injuries, but could be a guy to watch later in the season.

19. Zach Petrick- RHP, Undrafted free agent who has already beaten the odds and made it to AAA, where it appears he has hit his ceiling early in the season. I did these rankings in the offseason and felt it would be disingenuous to change them now.

18. Mike Mayers- RHP, Not really a fan of the big sinkerballer from Ole Miss, but he’s already at AA and has drawn some far-fetched Lance Lynn comparisons.

17. Thomas Pham- OF, 6-1, 175, 3/08/88. Oft injured, older prospect finally stayed healthy and had breakout with .386 wOBA in 390 AAA plate appearances. Could be a bench bat with the big club next year.

16. Breyvic Valera- 2B, Tiny, contact oriented approach hitter who’s big calling card is his versatility. I’m not extremely high on this player, but I recognize the value in making extreme contact and being age appropriate with an ability to play all over the diamond. He’ll never be a regular, but will have a chance. Has already made it to AA.