Sweet revenge

Talk about fantasy sports here
StatmanCrothers
Perennial All-Star

Sweet revenge

Post by StatmanCrothers »

Since losing the first week in my head-to-head league, I've won 6 weeks in a row and am now alone in first place at 6-1.

After the first couple of days of the season, I had several pitchers who got rocked and I had negative points overall.

The league founder, one of my nephews, sent me a "Smack" card that said something like

"Uncle Mark, Sorry you misunderstood the point system-- the goal is to get POSITIVE points. "

I sent a return smack, saying "Don't worry, I'm saving up my points for the week I play YOU ..."

well I studied the league system a bit and figured out that there was a loop hole. The way the points were set up, an average starting pitcher would average 5 pts per start. An average batter would average 1.7 pts per start.

The league allowed you to set a new lineup every day, you were allowed one batter at each position plus a UTIL (DH) which could be any position. You were allowed 6 pitchers total each day, 2 starters, 2 relievers and 2 of any type.

The bench could be filled as you liked, with a total of 24 players in all.

After figuring this out during the first week, I got thinking. A position player on your bench would play at most 1 or 2 days, filling in, for a total of 2 or 3 pts on average. With lineups set every day, putting starting pitchers on your bench, if too many didn't all start on the same day, you'd get every point from every pitcher.

Additionally, there were quite a few pitchers classified as RP (relief) as far as the roster was concerned, that were actually starters this season. Wainwright, Looper, Micah Owings, Bergmann, De La Rosa, Carmosa, etc.