What instruments do you play and how well?

Chat about non-baseball topics. No political discussions!
ghostrunner
Hall Of Famer

What instruments do you play and how well?

Post by ghostrunner »

Don't know if we've ever had a thread on this. We know the answer to both questions for Leroy, though maybe he plays some others.

I don't think I've mentioned it here, but I started taking piano about 2 years ago after my kids started taking lessons. They stopped and i kept going. I then stopped lessons once the pandemic hit, but I've been practicing and trying to learn on my own, trying out different songs. Usually practice anywhere from 10 minutes to an hour every day or so.

Took me a good year or so to finally get notes down to where I can generally read them without having to think much, though anything that goes above or below the lines I still have trouble with at times.

I started learning this song from Blade Runner in my lessons because it's one of my favorites. When I stopped I could only do the first half.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cg0cmhjdiLs

I play it at least a few times a week, usually a 2-3 times in one sitting. I still don't have it down perfectly and will strangely draw a blank on small sections, and the parts I forget change from time to time. Not sure if that's related to inexperience and general lack of command or me in particular.

Also randomly working on Shadowboxer by Fiona Apple, which has some more complex (for me) two handed stuff and I'm not great at keeping all of that straight in my head, but I'm getting better. I have about 10-12 other songs I rotate in and out depending on what I'm doing.