Rave: Hello Fresh/Blue Apron

The forum for ranting, raving, complaining and praising
Michael
GRB Founder

Rave: Hello Fresh/Blue Apron

Post by Michael »

I've always been one of those stereotypical useless males in the kitchen. Growing up my mom always made my meals for me and I didn't improve with age. My wife doesn't really cook either so until recently we pretty much ate out every day. Well, one day I was listening to a podcast and they mentioned a company called Blue Apron. It's a service where they send you the ingredients for 3 nutritious meals a week that you prep and cook yourself. For 60 dollars a week you get 3 meals for 2 people delivered to your home. In the beginning the results were awful but I've quickly gotten a lot better, and now I'm having quite a bit of fun. I'm not saying I'm a great cook or anything, but it's a start. There's quite a few Blue Apron competitors so currently I'm doing a bit of coupon harvesting and trying other services. For far I think Hello Fresh is my favorite meal service. Their menus are super straightforward and I like their meal options, which include a breakfast choice.

Anyway, that's my pathetic personal triumph story. Thank you for reading.

Schlich
Don't tone police me bro!

Re: Rave: Hello Fresh/Blue Apron

Post by Schlich »

I've loved blue apron, I feel like it's not really that much more expensive than grocery shopping and you can't beat the convenience of saving the grocery shopping and having the exact right amount of what you need... our only downside is that we've been struggling to find the time to cook 3 nights a week... meal prep plus cooking plus eating plus cleaning comes out to about 2 hours of our night. But it's so freakin tasty. And, as you mentioned, it's taught me a lot of basic cooking skills so that we can make things that don't taste like garbage when we cancel the service.

Michael
GRB Founder

Post by Michael »