"Does that make sense?"

The forum for ranting, raving, complaining and praising
GeddyWrox
Caught you a delicious bass

"Does that make sense?"

Post by GeddyWrox »

I've been supervising this guy for 5 years now. Great guy, smart as heck. Reliable. But sometimes he has a hard time finding the right words to explain where his thoughts are at, and he asks "Does that make sense?" allllllll the time. It's not as much about the listener's understanding as much as him wondering if the words came out jumbled. But every time he asks it, it's like a little paper cut. It just bugs me. And I don't really know why.

Should I tell him to find another way to validate what he's saying was clear?

Fat_Bulldog
likes to grate his own cheese

Re: "Does that make sense?"

Post by Fat_Bulldog »

I might let that one slide.

cardinalkarp
Hall Of Famer

Post by cardinalkarp »

Sounds like it would be best for you to make the adjustment.

GeddyWrox

Post by GeddyWrox »

I wonder if it bothers the users he deals with.

I wonder if I should even try to ask some of them.

IMADreamer
Has an anecdote about a townie he overheard.

Post by IMADreamer »

I have a buddy that does the exact same thing. Sometimes I just completely ignore it and sometimes it's like nails on a chalkboard. I've chosen not to die on that hill as over all he's a great guy.

CardsofSTL
All Hail the GDT Master

Post by CardsofSTL »

That's not the kind of thing I'd think a supervisor should try to correct.

AWvsCBsteeeerike3
"I could totally eat a pig butt, if smoked correctly!"

Post by AWvsCBsteeeerike3 »

I say it all the time for multiple reasons:

1. It breaks up my speaking to give the other person a chance to interject any questions/clear up any confusion they may have.